Who we are

CanSur was established in 1999 as a not-for-profit charity.  The impetus for the establishment of the foundation was fuelled by the energetic efforts of Dr Roger Byers PhD who set up the business plan and legal structure.  He understood how many silent heroes submitted to different treatments for cancer and how they struggled to find the answers to this mysterious condition.  Because he was appreciative  of what was done for him he wanted to make a contribution to help future sufferers.  He was unable to find a satisfactory organisation and therefore he set up CanSur.  Tattersall’s Pty Ltd gave a major sustaining grant.  Baxter Healthcare also gave a sustaining grant over three years.

Our work has been recognized by the NSW State Government who generously supported the infrastructure to establish a pancreatic cancer tissue bank.  The Reid Foundation has also been supportive in our establishment of a proteomics facility at the Kolling Institute at Royal North Hospital.  We have also received grants from the Cancer Council of NSW, Cancer Institute of NSW, Ramsay Healthcare and many patients have made very generous donations.  This support provides the impetus for very valuable research at the “cutting edge”.


The Current Directors:

  • Professor Ross Smith (Chairman)           
  • Professor Tom Hugh
  • Mr John Burgess
  • Emeritus Professor Rob Baxter
  • Emeritus Professor Judy Simpson
  • Dr Sally Smith


The Founding Directors:

  • Professor Ross Smith
  • The Hon Peter Anderson AM        
  • Mr Brian Harris
  • Dr Raymond Hollings AO
  • The Late Dr Roger Byers


Past Directors:

  • Mr Brian Wedderburn
  • Mr Graham White AO
  • Dr Steve Leibman
  • Associate Professor Garrett Smith

Donate to us!

CoalaWeb Traffic

This week124
This month1561

Visitor Info

  • IP:
  • Browser: Unknown
  • Browser Version:
  • Operating System: Unknown

Who Is Online